Policy History Conferences

Every two years the Journal of Policy History and the Institute for Political History sponsor a conference on policy history. Since the first Policy History Conference in Saint Louis, Missouri, the primary goal behind the conference has been to provide an interdisciplinary forum for presentations and roundtable discussions on policy history topics and recent policy history research. The biennial conferences bring together academy scholars, independent scholars and graduate students to share their research. Many of the papers presented eventually appear in academic journals and other publications.

The 2022 Policy History Conference will be held in Tempe, Arizona June 1-4, 2022

Saint Louis, Missouri, was the site of the first conferences in 2000, 2002, and 2004. The 2006 Policy History Conference was held at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville and was co-sponsored by the Journal of Policy History, the Institute for Political History, and the Miller Center of Public Affairs.

The 2008 Policy History Conference returned to Saint Louis, MO. The plenary sessions included a lively discussion on the meaning of 1968 with Nelson Lichtenstein and Byron Shafer, chaired by Julian Zelizer, and a retrospective of Paul Starr's The Social Transformation of American Medicine.

The 2010 Policy History Conference met in Columbus, Ohio. Over 275 participants were on the program, including distinguished historians, political scientists, social scientists, lawyers, education scholars, and policy experts. The plenary sessions included discussions of U.S. Military History as Policy History, The Media and Politics, and American Economic Crises in Historical Perspective.

The Policy History Conference was held in Richmond, Virginia in 2012 and in Columbus, Ohio in 2014. Co-sponsors included the Journal of Policy History, the Miller Center of Public Affairs and the Institute for Political History.

The 2016 Policy History Conference was held June 1 - 5, 2016 in Nashville, Tennessee at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel and was co-sponsored by the Journal of Policy History, Institute for Political History, Center for Political Thought and Leadership, Arizona State University, Department of Government, University of Texas-Austin, and Peabody College, Vanderbilt University. 

2018 marked the 20th year of continued academic excellence for the Policy History Conference and the 30th anniversary of publication for the Journal of Policy History. The historic 2018 conference was held in Tempe, Arizona at the Mission Palms Hotel May 16 - 19, 2018. 

At each Policy History Conference, the Journal of Policy History presents the Ellis Hawley Prize, awarded to a junior scholar contributing the most outstanding article published in the Journal during the past two years.

The Institute for Political History awards a travel grant to graduate students or junior scholars to assist in conducting archival research: the Hugh Davis Graham Award in twentieth century policy/political history.